IMA Young Mycologist for Asian 2010 Award: Dr. Lei  Cai
IMA Young Mycologist for Asian 2014 Award: Dr. Guanghua Huang
IMA Young Mycologist for Asian 2018 Award: Dr. Yu FUKASAWA

Distinguished Asian Mycologist Award│Young Asian Mycologist Award (under 40 years old)

  1. Each country society is eligible to nominate one candidate for each award. Candidate can be proposed from within their own country or from another asian country. Committee for awards may also propose up to 2 candidates from Asian countries that they feel are the most appropriate candidates.
  2. Award committee invites candidates to submit CV and Scopus and SCI analysis.
  3. Judging online based on
    • Scientific publications, books and patents – 60%
    • International impact of work – 20%
    • Social impact of work – 20%
  4. Data to combine judging data and email award committee decision or further deliberations to decide on winners.

Award committee (5 members)

  • Chairman of AMA
  • One Vice-Chair of AMA
  • Chairman or other representative of IMA
  • One senior Asian mycologist (possibly the past awardees of the Distinguished Asian Mycologist Award)
  • One other senior international scientist from out of Asia


    1. Invitations to AMA meeting with full costs
    2. Award (medal, certificate, 500 USD cash prize) to be awarded at special ceremony at AMA meeting
    3. Both winners to give special lectures


Each AMA meeting will support the award.

*AMA countries with societies
China, India, Iran, Japan, Korea, Nepal, Philippines,Taiwan, Thailand
** Definition of Asian Mycologist
An Asian mycologist is considered to be a person living and working in an Asian country for at least five years. For example an American working in Hong Kong for at least five years would be eligible. On the other hand, a Thai person working or studying in America would not be eligible.

AMA 2011 Awards

Distinguished Mycologist Award – Dr. KD Hyde
Young Mycologist Award – Dr. Lei Cai

AMA 2013 Awards

Distinguished Mycologist Award – Dr. Chihiro Tanaka
Young Mycologist Award – Dr. Yuuri Hirooka
Special Award for Contribution to Asian Mycology – Dr. Gareth EB Jones

AMA 2015 Awards

Distinguished Mycologist: Prof. Sridhar Kandikere Ramaiah
Young Mycologist Award: Prof. BaoKai Cui

AMA 2017 Awards

Distinguished Mycologist: Prof. Chengshu Wang
Young Mycologist Award: Dr. Sajeewa S.N. Maharachchikumbura

AMA 2019 Awards

Distinguished Mycologist: Prof. Davis Joseph Bagyaraj
Young Mycologist Award: Dr. Takashi Shirouzu

AMA 2021 Awards

Distinguished Mycologist: Prof. Saisamorn Lumyong
Young Mycologist Award: Prof. Jian-Kui Liu
Best PhD Award: Dr. Chayanard Phukhamsakda